Tuesday, September 25, 2018

Rep. Hannah Kane Appointed to Regional Transit Authority Performance and Funding Task Force

Representative Hannah Kane (R-Shrewsbury) has been appointed by House Minority Leader Bradley H. Jones, Jr. (R-North Reading) to serve on a task force that will evaluate the performance and funding of the state’s regional transit authorities.

Created as part of the Fiscal Year 2019 state budget, the 19-member commission will look at how the state’s 15 regional transit authorities can best provide and improve transit services for their customers, while conducting regular service planning to maximize ridership.  The commission will also explore ways to ensure that fares, local contributions and other own-source revenues are sufficient to cover an appropriate share of service costs for these regional transit authorities.

“As a member of the Joint Committee on Transportation, Representative Kane has been proactive in supporting the Baker-Polito Administration’s efforts to improve services on the MBTA,” said Representative Jones.  “I am confident she will bring this same commitment to the task force as it works to increase efficiencies at the state’s regional transit authorities and enhance the ridership experience for commuters who utilize these services.”

Representative Kane is one of four legislators serving on the task force, which is being chaired by Astrid Glynn, the Rail & Transit Administrator for the Massachusetts Department of Transportation. Three members will be appointed by the regional transit authority administrators, with Governor Charlie Baker appointing the other 11 members, including one who will represent the disabled commuter population and one who will represent an organization that advocates for regional transit authority riders.

The task force is scheduled to file its initial report by November 1, 2018.

In addition to serving on the Joint Committee on Transportation, Representative Kane is also the Ranking Minority Member of the Joint Committee on Public Health, the Ranking Minority Member of the JointCommittee on Marijuana Policy, and a member of the Joint Committee on MentalHealth, Substance Use and Recovery.  She represents the Eleventh Worcester District, which includes the town of Shrewsbury and Precincts 4 and 5 in Westborough.