Wednesday, July 20, 2016

Representative Barrows Appointed to Serve on Non-Compete Conference Committee

House Minority Leader Bradley H. Jones, Jr. (R-North Reading) is pleased to announce his appointment of Representative F. Jay Barrows (R-Mansfield) as a member of the conference committee that will review proposed reforms to employee non-compete agreements in Massachusetts.

Both the House of Representatives and the Senate recently approved bills to regulate the use of non-compete agreements, which are often used in the technology and financial service industries to prevent employees from leaving a company to join a competitor within the same geographic area.  The House version of the bill limits most non-compete agreements to one year and requires employers to pay half of the employee’s annualized salary during this non-compete period, while the Senate version limits non-competes to three months but requires that employees be paid their full salary while the non-compete agreement is in effect.

Representative Barrows will serve on the conference committee alongside Senators Daniel Wolf (D-Harwich), William Brownsberger (D-Belmont) and Ryan Fattman (R-Webster), as well as Representatives Brian Dempsey (D-Haverhill) and John Scibak (D-South Hadley).  The conferees will work to reconcile the differences between the House and Senate versions of the non-compete bill so a compromise proposal can be sent to Governor Charlie Baker for his signature before the end of formal legislative sessions on July 31.

“Representative Barrows has spent many years running his own business in the private sector, which gives him a unique perspective on the issue of non-competes,” said Representative Jones. “Jay brings a wealth of real-world knowledge and expertise to the conference committee, and can use this insight to help provide his fellow conferees with a better understanding of both the good and bad aspects of non-compete agreements as they work to craft a compromise.”

Representative Barrows currently serves as a member of the Joint Committee on Health Care Financing and the House Committee on Ethics.  He represents the First Bristol District, which consists of Precincts 2, 3 and 6 in Mansfield; Precincts 3,4 and 5 in Norton; and the town of Foxborough.