Wednesday, July 27, 2016

Rep. Kane Appointed to MA Food Policy Council

House Minority Leader Bradley H. Jones, Jr. (R-North Reading) has appointed Representative Hannah Kane (R-Shrewsbury) as his designee to the Massachusetts Food Policy Council.

Established by the Legislature in 2010, the Massachusetts Food Policy Council’s primary purpose is to promote the increased production, sale and consumption of Massachusetts-grown foods.  The Council also develops programs to deliver healthy, affordable Massachusetts-grown foods to the state’s residents, particularly in communities with disproportionate cases of obesity and chronic diseases.

“Representative Kane has been a strong supporter of the Westborough Food Pantry, St. Anne’s Human Services in Shrewsbury, and other local charities that provide food to families in need,” said Representative Jones.  “I am confident she will be a valuable asset to the Council and continue to be an effective advocate for improving access to locally-grown food products.”

“I am honored to have been selected to serve as Minority Leader Jones’ representative to the Massachusetts Food Policy Council,” said Representative Kane.  “I am looking forward to joining the council and addressing the challenges associated with increasing the availability and accessibility of food produced in Massachusetts, through which we will promote healthier lifestyles, stimulate economic development and encourage sustainable agricultural practices. I am a proud sponsor of the Shrewsbury Farmers Market and a significant portion of the funds raised at the Hannah Kane Charity Classic golf tournament go to helping feed local families. The funds allocated to the Westborough Food Pantry also help local farmers through the use of vouchers for WFP clients to buy fresh produce at the Westborough Farmers Market.” 

Representative Kane is one of four legislators to serve on the 17-member Council, which also includes seven food industry representatives and six state agency representatives.  Members of the Council serve for three-year terms, and are eligible for reappointment.

The Council is required to file an annual report with the Governor and the Legislature no later than December 31. All of its meetings are open to the public.

Representative Kane represents the 11th Worcester District, which is comprised of the town of Shrewsbury and Precincts 4 and 5 in Westborough.